Bavarian-Board.co.uk - BMW Owners Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Regional & Specific Forums > Irish Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Lockedrecent disastrous trip to italy!!

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Eamo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: recent disastrous trip to italy!!
    Posted: 29-January-2007 at 14:19
well folks was away in turin last week trying to buy a 320is

now as some of you may know im a hard core veteran when it comes to bring stuff in from the continent - been to the uk many times - germany and france as well - so i know the score!

now i knew italy would be tough but not this tough.
I had been in email and telephone conversation with the garage selling the car for a full week prior to flying out. I was assured both orally and by email that there would be no problem whatsoever what me taking the car away on the day with the licence papers

so i arrived at the garage at 10am that morning. met the guy i had spoken to previously and he told me that the car was elsewhere and was been valeted. at 11.30 car arrived. I inspected it and drove and was very haapy. this took about an hour.

deal was done and i paid by credit card. I signed about 6 bits of documentation and had to meet 2 provisios before leaving with the car
1. a copy of my insurance to show i was covered on that car - not a problem. rang FBD - explained the situation, got a temp transfer request and they faxed it through to the garage.
2. they would only give me a photcopy of the tax book. Once i returned to Ireland I was to post back the no plates and then they would send me the original - no problem with that

1.30 arrived and they were still completing documentation. I was told to go for lunch and come back an hour later and that everything would be ready